Skip to content


Fields of Research are classification codes developed by the Australian Bureau of Statistics and the Australian Research Council to classify research activity in Australia. All universities – along with businesses, research institutions, tertiary institutions, and other organisations – use the same fields.

Fields of Research are grouped into eight research areas. Each area then divides into sub-fields of research and emerging areas of research.

Click on a research area to find a list of associated researchers.

Biological and Biotechnological Sciences

Agricultural And Veterinary Sciences

Biological Sciences


Biomedical and Clinical Health Research

Medical And Health Sciences

Engineering and Environmental Sciences


Environmental Sciences

Humanities and Creative Arts

Built Environment And Design

History And Archaeology

Languages, Communication And Culture

Law And Legal Studies

Philosophy And Religious Studies

Studies In Creative Arts And Writing

Mathematical, Information and Computing sciences

Information And Computing Sciences

Mathematical Sciences


Public and Allied Health Sciences

Medical And Health Sciences

Physical, Chemical and Earth Sciences

Chemical Science

Earth Sciences

Physical Sciences

Social, Behavioural and Economic Sciences

Commerce, Management, Tourism And Services



Psychology And Cognitive Sciences

Studies In Human Society