Faculty of Arts

Postgraduate - Unit

This unit entry is for students who completed this unit in 2014 only. For students planning to study the unit, please refer to the unit indexes in the the current edition of the Handbook. If you have any queries contact the managing faculty for your course or area of study.

print version

12 points, SCA Band 1, 0.250 EFTSL

Refer to the specific census and withdrawal dates for the semester(s) in which this unit is offered, or view unit timetables.

FacultyFaculty of Arts
Organisational UnitSir Zelman Cowen School of Music
OfferedNot offered in 2014
Coordinator(s)Dr Joel Crotty


Previously coded MUM4090


This unit allows for a close examination of chamber music composed between 1835-1935. The Romantic, Neo-Classical, Non-Tonal and Dodecaphonic approaches will form the background to trios, quartets and quintets composed for a variety of forces. Works by Mendelssohn, Schumann, Brahms, Saint-Saens, Ravel, Tchaikovsky, Bartok, Schoenberg and Berg will act as musical examples.


By the end of the semester, students undertaking this unit should have developed further knowledge of the history, and style of chamber music (1835-1935) on a framework within which to identify, categorise and assess and write critically about the music.


The methods of assessment will be five class presentations and a series of short annotations (for GradDip/MMus candidates) or five class presentations and a larger essay (for GradDip/MMusStuds candidates). All tasks have the basic objective to enable candidates to investigate changes in approach to composition over a fifty year period.

Chief examiner(s)

Workload requirements

One 2-hour seminar per week