Structure and organisation of the faculty - Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science offers a variety of courses, based on conventional on-campus teaching at the Clayton, Gippsland and Malaysia campuses or via a small number of units in off-campus learning mode.

The faculty has seven schools, each of which is responsible for carrying out teaching and research activities within the areas of expertise of their academic staff.


Studies in a broad range of science disciplines are offered at the Clayton campus. The schools within the faculty at the Clayton campus are:

Science studies are also offered towards most science courses by some departments and schools in other faculties at the Clayton campus, including:

  • the departments of Anatomy and Developmental Biology, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Physiology, and the School of Psychology and Psychiatry in the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Department of Materials Engineering in the Faculty of Engineering
  • Clayton School of Information Technology in the Faculty of Information Technology
  • School of Geography and Environmental Science in the Faculty of Arts.

Gippsland and off-campus learning

The School of Applied Sciences and Engineering is located at the Gippsland campus and offers studies in biochemistry, biotechnology, chemistry, ecology and environmental management, mathematics, medical bioscience, microbiology, physiology and veterinary bioscience. Information technology studies are offered by the Gippsland School of Information Technology towards 0050 the Bachelor of Science, and off-campus studies in psychology are also available at the Gippsland campus for science students.


The School of Science is located at the Malaysia campus, and offers science studies in biotechnology, chemistry, food science and technology, genetics,  medical bioscience, microbiology, physiology and tropical biology.