Faculty of Arts

Postgraduate - Unit

This unit entry is for students who completed this unit in 2013 only. For students planning to study the unit, please refer to the unit indexes in the the current edition of the Handbook. If you have any queries contact the managing faculty for your course or area of study.

print version

12 points, SCA Band 1, 0.250 EFTSL

To find units available for enrolment in the current year, you must make sure you use the indexes and browse unit tool in the current edition of the Handbook.

FacultyFaculty of Arts
Organisational UnitSir Zelman Cowen School of Music
OfferedClayton Second semester 2013 (Day)
Coordinator(s)Dr Joel Crotty


Previously coded MUM4090


This unit allows for a close examination of chamber music composed between 1835-1935. The Romantic, Neo-Classical, Non-Tonal and Dodecaphonic approaches will form the background to trios, quartets and quintets composed for a variety of forces. Works by Mendelssohn, Schumann, Brahms, Saint-Saens, Ravel, Tchaikovsky, Bartok, Schoenberg and Berg will act as musical examples.


By the end of the semester, students undertaking this unit should have developed further knowledge of the history, and style of chamber music (1835-1935) on a framework within which to identify, categorise and assess and write critically about the music.


The methods of assessment will be five class presentations and a series of short annotations (for GradDip/MMus candidates) or five class presentations and a larger essay (for GradDip/MMusStuds candidates). All tasks have the basic objective to enable candidates to investigate changes in approach to composition over a fifty year period.

Chief examiner(s)

Contact hours

One 2-hour seminar per week