Faculty of Arts

Skip to content | Change text size

print version

Monash University Handbook 2011 Postgraduate - Unit

12 points, SCA Band 1, 0.250 EFTSL

Refer to the specific census and withdrawal dates for the semester(s) in which this unit is offered.

FacultyFaculty of Arts
OfferedClayton Second semester 2011 (Day)
Coordinator(s)Joel Crotty


Previously coded MUM4090


This unit allows for a close examination of chamber music composed between 1835-1935. The Romantic, Neo-Classical, Non-Tonal and Dodecaphonic approaches will form the background to trios, quartets and quintets composed for a variety of forces. Works by Mendelssohn, Schumann, Brahms, Saint-Saens, Ravel, Tchaikovsky, Bartok, Schoenberg and Berg will act as musical examples.


By the end of the semester, students undertaking this unit should have developed further knowledge of the history, and style of chamber music (1835-1935) on a framework within which to identify, categorise and assess and write critically about the music.


The methods of assessment will be five class presentations and a series of short annotations (for GradDip/MMus candidates) or five class presentations and a larger essay (for GradDip/MMusStuds candidates). All tasks have the basic objective to enable candidates to investigate changes in approach to composition over a fifty year period.

Contact hours

One 2-hour seminar per week