Faculty of Arts

Skip to content | Change text size

print version

Monash University Handbook 2011 Postgraduate - Unit

12 points, SCA Band 1, 0.250 EFTSL

Refer to the specific census and withdrawal dates for the semester(s) in which this unit is offered.

FacultyFaculty of Arts
OfferedNot offered in 2011
Coordinator(s)Joel Crotty


Previously coded MUM4080


This unit allows for a closer examination of art-music between 1750-1800. The development of sonata form, the string quartet and the symphony will be contextualised in relationship to the philosophic ideas attached to the Age of the Enlightenment. Works by CPE Bach, JC Bach, Karl Stamitz, Johann Stamitz, Mozart and Haydn will act as musical examples.


By the end of the semester, students undertaking this unit should have developed further knowledge of the Classical era (1750-1800) on a framework within which to identify, categorise and assess and write critically about the music.


For students in the GradDipMus/MMus:
16 Annotations (260 words each): 50%
5 Class presentations (1000 words each): 50%

For students in the GadDipMusSt/MMusSt:
Essay (4000 words): 50%
5 Class presentations (1000 words each): 50%

Chief examiner(s)

Dr Graeme Smith

Contact hours

One 2-hour seminar per week