Monash community honoured on Australia Day

Image of Clive Weeks
Engineering alumnus and supporter Clive Weeks received an Officer of the Order of Australia in the 2013 Australia Day Honours.

Monash University alumnus, volunteer and supporter Clive Weeks (BE(Hons) 1969, MEngSc 1973) has been awarded an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in this year’s Australia Day Honours, announced on 26 January.

Our Honours recipients - full list

Mr Weeks received the honour “for distinguished service to engineering through leadership roles in the development of key civil works projects and through contributions to professional and educational organisations”.

Mr Weeks is a longstanding supporter of Monash’s Faculty of Engineering. He has been on the Engineering Foundation Board of Management since 2006 and contributes to the faculty’s Engineering Leadership Program. He has also established a scholarship in his name to support a student during their academic studies.

Mr Weeks has had a distinguished career as a civil engineer. In 1972 after a period with local councils and lecturing at Swinburne College, he began working at GHD (formerly Gutteridge Haskins and Davey) Consulting Engineers. He held a range of positions during his 37 years with the company including Director (1992), CEO (2002) and Executive Chairman (2003) - a position he held until he stepped down from the GHD Board in 2008.

Monash Vice-Chancellor’s Professorial Fellow Professor Murray McLean received an Officer of the Order of Australia “for service to the Australian and international communities through significant leadership and co-ordination roles following the tsunami and earthquakes that occurred in Japan on 11 March 2011 and to the promotion of Australia's diplomatic and trade relationships”.

As one of Australia’s most senior professional diplomats, Professor McLean served as Australian Ambassador to Japan, in senior China postings (in Beijing and as Australian Consul-General in Shanghai), Australian High Commissioner to Singapore and as Deputy Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. After retiring from government service Professor McLean was appointed as Chair of the Australia Japan Foundation and adviser in the development of the Australian Government’s White Paper ‘Australia in the Asian Century’. He also advises and consults to business through his company, Dunmore McLean Pty Ltd.

Alumnus, staff member and supporter Professor Andrew Cochrane (GradCertEBP 2006, GrandCertPharmEc 2006) received a Member of the Order of Australia “for significant service to adolescent and adult congenital heart disease as a clinician, researcher and educator, and through humanitarian and philanthropic contributions”.

Professor Cochrane, an Adjunct Clinical Associate in the Monash Department of Surgery, has more than 15 years of consultant experience in both adult and paediatric cardiac surgery. He undertook his advanced training at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, Alfred Hospital and Royal Children’s Hospital, and in the UK. He has been a surgeon at Monash Medical Centre, Clayton since 2003.

Other Australia Day Honours recipients include:

  • Alumna Professor Marilyn Renfree (HonLLD 2010) was honoured with an Officer of the Order of Australia “for distinguished service to biology, particularly through leadership in the research into marsupial reproduction, and to the scientific community through contributions to professional organisations”.
  • The Reverend Professor Emeritus Gary Bouma from the Faculty of Arts was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia “for significant service to sociology as an academic, to interfaith dialogue and to the Anglican Church of Australia”.
  • Emeritus Professor Owen Potter from the Faculty of Engineering received a Member of the Order of Australia “for significant service to chemical engineering through leadership in the areas of education, research and development, and to the Catholic Church”.
  • Alumnus Dean Barton-Smith (GradDipMktg 2001, MMkg 2003) was honoured with a Member of the Order of Australia “for significant service to the sport of athletics and to people who are deaf or hard of hearing through the development of sport and recreation opportunities”.
  • Alumnus Graham Smorgon (BJuris 1972, LLB 1974) received a Member of the Order of Australia "for significant service to business and to the community of Victoria".
  • Emeritus Professor Roy Jackson from the Faculty of Science received a Member of the Order of Australia “for significant service to science in the field of organic chemistry as an educator and researcher”.
  • Alumnus and supporter Dr Malcolm Baxter (MBBS 1970) received a Medal of the Order of Australia "for service to medicine as an ear, nose and throat specialist".