Queen’s Birthday Honours 2011

The following is a list of members of the Monash University community who received honours in the 2011 Queen’s Birthday list. The person’s affiliation with Monash is included in italics.

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)

Professor Graeme Davison AO
Current staff member
For distinguished service to the community as a leading scholar and commentator on Australian urban history.

Professor Rupert Maclean AO (DipEd 1970, BEd 1972)
For distinguished service to technical and vocational education, particularly through the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation.

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

Associate Professor Trevor Budge AM (BA 1971, DipEd 1972)
For service to town planning, particularly the development of regional and rural communities in Victoria, and to education

Professor Suzanne Crowe AM (MBBS 1979, PhD Med 1999)
For services to the medical research in the areas of HIV/AIDS, medicine and infectious diseases as an academic, clinician and researcher, and to professional associations

Mr Peter Fox AM (BBus 1987)
Alumnus, volunteer
For service to transport and logistics

Wing Commander Ian Henderson AM (BSc 1990, LLB 1992)
For service in military law

Mr Alastair Lucas AM
Advisory Board Member
For service to medical administration, particularly through the MacFarlane Burnet Institute for Medical Research, to the finance sector and to environmental organisations

Mr Dennis Nelthorpe AM (BJuris 1974, LLB 1977)
For service to social justice

Professor Jeffrey Rosenfeld AM (MD 2006)
Current staff member, Alumnus
For service to medicine

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Dr Jayant Bapat OAM (PhD 1968)
Alumnus, adjunct staff member
For service to the Hindu community and education

Dr Margaret Bowman OAM (PhD 1973)
For service to local government

Ms Ann Carlyon OAM (BA 1964)
For service to the community

Mrs Danielle Charak OAM
Former staff member, supporter
For service to women, education and the Jewish community

Mr Bruce Fuhrer OAM (HonMSc 1988)
Former Monash staff, Alumnus
For service to conservation

Mr Brian Hawdon OAM (PhC)
For service to the community

Rabbi Philip Heilbrunn OAM
For service to the St Kilda Hebrew congregation and to the community

Dr Bruce Ingram OAM (BSc (Hons) 1978, MBBS (Hons) 1981)
For service to medicine

Mr Ross Lake OAM (BEc 1976, DipEd 1977, LLB 1981)
Alumnus, supporter
For service to art administration

Mr Barry Novy OAM
For service to the community, particularly children

Mr Roland Perry OAM (BEc 1973)
For service to literature as an author

Professor Andrew Tonkin OAM
Current staff member
For service to medical research in the field of epidemiology and preventative medicine

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Mr Neil Robertson PSM (BA (Hons) 1985, LLB 1990, MPA 2008)
Alumnus, supporter
For outstanding public service and leadership through the provision of innovative legal policy in a diverse range of areas

Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM)

Mr Richard Griffiths AFSM (MPA 2008)

Ambulance Service Medal

Mr Stephen Trewin (AdvDipMicaParaSt 2001)