Australia Day Honours 2008

Monash University congratulates the following alumni, staff, donors and friends of the University who received Australia Day Honours in 2008:

Companion of the Order of Australia (AC)

Mr Lindsay Fox AC
Member of the Monash University campaign committee
For continued service to the transport and logistics industries, to business through the development and promotion of youth traineeships, and to the community through a range of philanthropic endeavours.

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)

Professor Jock Findlay AO
Deputy Director, Prince Henry's Institute of Medical Research
For service to medicine in the field of reproductive endocrinology as a researcher through contributions to the regulation and promotion of assisted reproductive technology and treatment, and to the development of national and international health programs.

Mrs Margaret Howden AO (BA 1977)
Supporter of Monash University
For service to the community through the Stepfamily Association of Victoria.

Mr Bernard Marin AO
Supporter of Monash University
For service to accountancy and to the community, particularly through a range of civil liberty, human rights and charitable organisations.

Rear Admiral Rowan Moffitt AO RAN (MBA 1999)
For exceptional service to the Royal Australian Navy and the Australian Defence Force as the Director General Navy Capability Performance and Plans, Commandant of the Australian Defence Force Warfare Centre and as Deputy Chief of Navy.

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

Ms Louise Adler AM
Council Member, Monash University
For service to literature as a publisher, through support for and the promotion of emerging authors, to tertiary education, and to the community.

Dr Paul Gardner AM (PhD 1974)
Former staff, Monash University
For service to the Jewish community through executive roles with organisations fostering interfaith and intercultural relations, and to the promotion and development of human rights and social justice.

Emeritus Professor Paul Grundy AM
Emeritus Professor of Civil Engineering, Monash University
For service to engineering, particularly in the areas of structural stability and fatigue, as an academic and researcher and through executive roles with professional organisations.

Professor John Hopper AM (BSc(Hons) 1972, MSc 1974)
For service to public health and the biomedical sciences, particularly in the field of genetic epidemiology as an academic and researcher, and to the Australian Twin Registry.

Mr Grahame Leonard AM (LLB 1995, BA(Hons) 1996)
Board Member, Monash University Foundation for Jewish Studies
For service to the community as an executive member of a range of peak Jewish organisations.

Professor John McNeil AM
Chair, Monash University Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, Alfred Hospital
For service to preventive medicine and to epidemiology as a researcher and educator and as a contributor to the development of public health policy.

Dr Dianne Reilly Drury AM (BA 1974, MA 1984)
For service as a contributor to the research, recording and preservation of historic records relating to Charles La Trobe, to promoting relations between France and Australia, and to librarianship.

The Honourable Kevin Rozzoli AM
Honorary Research Fellow, Department of Management, Monash University
For service to the New South Wales Parliament, and to the community of the Greater Western Sydney area through a range of environmental protection, health and welfare, and educational organisations.

Commissioner Greg Smith AM
Chair, External Advisory Committee, Department of Business Law and Taxation, Monash University
For service to industrial relations through conciliation, mediation and arbitration and by assisting employers and employees to achieve fair and effective agreements.

The Reverend Professor Victor Yu-Hei Yu AM
Clinical Director, Ritchie Centre for Baby Health Research, Monash Institute of Medical Research, Monash University
For service to neonatal paediatrics and medical research, particularly through the study of prematurity, to the establishment and development of specialist medical and teaching facilities, and to religion.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Mr Leslie Erdi OAM
Supporter of Monash University
For service to the community through philanthropic contributions to educational, charitable and Jewish organisations.

Mr John Hutchinson OAM (DipEng(Mech) 1959)
Former Council Member, Monash University
Former Chair, Gippsland Campus Advisory Council

For service to the community of the Gippsland region through executive roles with a range of organisations, to tertiary education, and to the energy industry.

Mr Donald Ingram OAM (DipEd 1967, BEd 1973)
For service to education, particularly the Mentone Grammar School and through support for professional organisations, and to the community.

Mrs Jennifer Lovering OAM (MAdmin 1984)
For service to the status of women, particularly through the Women's Electoral Lobby.

Professor Michael Sawyer OAM (MBBS 1972)
For service to medicine in the field of child and adolescent mental health as a researcher and educator, particularly through contributions to the design of new programs of intervention and through the promotion of community awareness.

Dr William Stewart OAM
Supporter of Monash University
For service to medicine as a general practitioner, and to the community of Lang Lang.

Mr Neil Terrill OAM (DipAppChem 1954, BBus 1980)
For service to conservation and the environment, particularly in the Gippsland region, through chemical science education, water conservation and treatment and ecological sustainability.

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Dr David Filby PSM (PhD 1979)
For outstanding public service to the Australian health care system.